“Not a Drop”: Wisconsin’s Underage OWI Law
Published By admin
Wisconsin’s “Not a Drop” law prohibits individuals under the age of 21 from driving after consuming any amount of alcohol. Any underage driver with a BAC of over 0.00% can be convicted of OWI.
Fortunately, Wisconsin underage DUI does not typically result in jail time, but penalties can include fines and demerit points added to the driver’s license.
Fines: An underage OWI conviction typically results in a $200 penalty or a $400 fine if the driver had a passenger under 16.
Points: A driver convicted of underage DUI may receive up to four points added to their demerit record. These points can negatively affect insurance rates and lead to a suspended license.
An underage driver stopped on suspicion of DUI may be requested to submit to a breathalyzer test. If the driver refuses to submit to this test, they will face a 6-month license suspension and a 12-month suspension if they are under 16 years of age. If the driver submits to the test and blows anything between 0.00% and 0.079%, they may face a 3-month license suspension. On the other hand, if the driver blows 0.08% or more, they may face standard OWI charges and penalties.
If you or a loved one is under investigation for underage OWI, you must contact an experienced criminal law attorney as soon as possible. It is crucial that you get started with your case before it is too late. Contact our team at 920.289.4699 and let us help you fight these charges.